Celiac disease is a lifelong and autoimmune disease caused by the permanent reaction of the immune system to gluten (a protein found in wheat, barley and rye). Currently there is no cure for this condition and the only option is to learn to live with it and adapt to a strict gluten free diet. At first it may seem difficult, but if you pay attention to some of these tips, it can easily become a part of your routine:
Get used to reading food labels
Always make sure you can eat the product by seeing if there is a “gluten-free” label on it or if you find any of these elements in the description: wheat, rye, barley, oats, spelled or similar.
Replace the food that contain gluten
Pasta, bread and biscuits all contain gluten, but that doesn’t mean you won’t be able to enjoy these products anymore. Today most supermarkets have spaces with alternatives to these foods, including pasta, bread, biscuits, cereals, cakes and much more, all without gluten.
Also try other types of cereals and grains, naturally gluten-free, such as quinoa, teff, amaranth, polenta, buckwheat, corn, millet and tapioca.
Remember that many foods are gluten-free
Here you have all of the fresh fruit and vegetables, meat, poultry, fish, cheese and eggs. Try using them as the basis of your meals.
Find out which alcoholic beverages you can drink
Gluten-free alcohol includes: cider, wine, spirits, port wine and liqueurs. Don’t forget that beer contains gluten.
The smallest grain can cause symptoms to someone who has celiac disease, so be careful with the utensils you use and the places where you eat, for example, always make sure that the kitchen surfaces are clean and use different knives for butter and jams to minimize the spread of crumbs.
At The 7 Hotel we offer some gluten-free options during breakfast, for you to start your day with energy, including: croissants, bread, muffins and cereals (corn-flakes and chocolate).